Crispy-skin salmon, braised kale and cannellini bean purée

I’m very tired today. I’m not sure whether it’s because of the two hours I spent at the gym, which I am writing about now because it never happens and I want everyone to know how virtuous I’ve been today, or whether it’s from the emotional stress of transfer deadline day, which I’m writing about because I want everyone to think I’m a cool girl who likes football. Which I am. I promise.Anyway, the point of bringing up this fatigue is to lend assurance that at the point of cooking supper this evening I was pooped. I wanted something warm, a little bit autumnal and mainly very quick. This is actually a 15 minute meal. In fact, I started cooking at six thirty on the dot and I’m a writing this word right now, having eaten at a reasonable pace, at twelve past seven. The great thing about this recipe is that it is quick but doesn’t taste as though it is. The flavours of chilli, garlic, rosemary and anchovies give the impression of slow braising and a lot of effort. This recipe would also work well with any meaty white fish. To loosen the cannellini bean puree I used almond milk, which I would usually sniff at but it didn’t affect the flavour at all and is supposedly better for you then normal milk or butter. Apparently butter is bad for you. Who knew?

photo 1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients (serves 1)

For the salmon:

1 salmon fillet (skin on preferably)

1 large pinch of sea salt

1 tsp of olive oil

For the kale:

1 tsp of olive oil

1 garlic clove

1 small pinch of chilli flakes

1 anchovy fillet

80g of curly kale

120ml of chicken stock

1 generous squeeze of lemon

For the cannellini bean puree:

1 tsp of olive oil

1 garlic clove

1 sprig of rosemary

100g of cannellini beans

2 small splashes of almond milk

Salt and pepper

Method:

  • Finely chop the garlic cloves and anchovy fillet and chiffonade the kale.
  • Heat 1 tsp of olive oil in a small saucepan over a medium flame. When hot add 1 finely chopped clove of garlic, after 5 seconds add the anchovy fillet and chilli flakes. Fry for 10 seconds, stirring frequently to make sure the garlic isn’t getting too brown. Add the kale and then the chicken stock. Put a lid on the saucepan and turn down the heat. Simmer the kale in the stock for about 5 minutes.
  • Meanwhile, heat 1 tsp of olive oil in another small saucepan over a medium heat. When hot add the other clove of finely chopped garlic and a rosemary sprig.
  • When the garlic is golden brown add in the cannellini beans. Sautee for 1 minute then add a splash of almond milk. Stir in the milk then turn off the heat and transfer the mixture to a blender. If you don’t have a blender then just mash up the beans with a fork, I like to keep bits of whole bean anyway for texture. If the mixture is too stiff add more milk.
  • Turn off the heat on the kale.
  • Pat the salmon dry then rub a large pinch of sea salt into the salmon skin.
  • Heat a 1 tsp of olive oil in a frying pan over a high heat. When very hot add the salmon skinside down and press the fillet with your fingers so the fish doesn’t curl up and away from the pan. Fry for 3.5 minutes on the skin and then 1 minute on each other side.
  • Remove the salmon from the pan and leave to rest for a minute on a chopping board.
  • While the salmon is resting take the lid off the kale and put over a high heat, you want to quickly reduce the stock in the pan but leave enough to generously coat the kale.
  • Reheat the cannellini bean puree, you will probably need to add another splash of almond milk, a large pinch of salt and a pinch of pepper.
  • And you’re done
2 Comments

  1. Andy Lewis says:

    Life is not without coincidence. Only last night did you click the “like” button on one of my posts which has led me here. Only this morning am I wondering what to do with the salmon I bought yesterday – something quick and healthy that includes greens and pulses, I thought. So, with numerous boxes ticked and with your permission, I will be trying this tonight (but with spinach rather than kale as I have a big bag in my fridge).
    Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

