Green smoothie no. 1

I really don’t like breakfast and I think fruit is stupid. Nature’s candy, it’s like a gateway drug for chocolate bars and red velvet cupcakes. Also, if you’re going to eat a load of sugar, just have a strawb. They taste better than real strawberries anyway and don’t give me shivers in my cheeks when I eat them. I am also perfectly aware that this is a slightly ridiculous opinion but that’s the great thing about having a blog, you get to write what you want. And, in general, I think fruit is a waste of calories. If you put a banana in front me or a piece of cheese, the cheese would always win. Always.

To be precise, I like savoury fruits like aubergines and courgettes a lot and I really like figs with basil, mozzarella and parma ham. I also kinda like blueberries. My favourite breakfast in the entire world is a piece of sourdough toast with a thin layer of shmushed avocado and really dry, thickly sliced turkey breast smothered in Dijon mustard and salt and pepper. But that’s creeping dangerously close into lunch-territory.

Recently, I went on holiday to Greece and when you’re on holiday there really is the whole breakfast issue. For some reason people who don’t eat breakfast at any other time of year always eat breakfast on holiday. So I took the opportunity to road-test different breakfasts. First up was Greek yoghurt with sunflower seeds and dried apricots. Not bad, but so much food and I think I could be allergic to dairy so probably not a solid option. Then I tried lettuce with tomatoes, olives and feta. Again, it didn’t taste bad it was just too much flavour for the morning, and it didn’t really go with coffee. Then I tried spanakotiropita which is a hugely delicious Greek speciality; essentially it’s feta cheese and spinach either stuffed inside triangles made of filo pastry or arranged in between layers of filo in a pie-style formation. Again though, it’s not really a breakfast item and I think if that became my go-to breakfast I would probably feel quite ill all the time. So, then I got to thinking and I realised that a not overly sweet smoothie might, maybe be a way forward. I realised I almost like fruit in the morning, but not enough to abandon my now firmly set slightly obtuse opinions on the subject. As a result, I started experimenting with smoothie recipes and I found that the leafy green ones with a little fruit base give just the right amount of sweetness. I am pretty sure that the recipe below strikes the right balance between sweet and savoury with a little creaminess too which is always welcome when you haven’t really woken up yet.

Ingredients (serves 3)

80g spinach

1 papaya (seeds and skin removed)

1/3 cup almond milk

A splash of water

2 apples (cut into manageable sizes and deseeded)

A small handful of crushed ice

3 tsps of passion fruit

Method:

 

Put the spinach, papaya, almond milk and water into a blender and blitz until smooth and liquid. Add the apples and crushed ice and then continue to blitz. I use a hand blender so I always need to blitz for longer than I expect. Then decant into glasses and top each with 1 tsp of passion fruit.

Leave a Reply

