Sous vide celeriac purée

This is my first post about the sous vide machine and I’m  very pleased to be writing it about celeriac. As far as the sous vide goes I’ve found that they excel at getting flavour out of vegetables and fruits. Their second best function is the cooking of chicken, other poultry and pork. I’m not really too sure of all the technicalities but I know that the celeriac purée which comes out of that wonderful bath isn’t going to just be a celeriac purée its going to be a CELERIAC purée. In case you don’t know what I mean by a CELERIAC purée I mean a purée that shouts “celeriac!!!!” from the rooftop and almost tastes like it should have E numbers in it; it’s so good.

You know when you walk past a burger stand cooking onions and they smell incredible and then you taste them and they’re just kind of a duller version of what you’ve imagined? That happens because a lot of the flavour of the onion has literally evapourated and found its way to our noses. When you sous vide food you put whatever ingredient you’re cooking into a vacuum sealed plastic bag which means that not only does it keep all of its flavour that would have been lost to delicious cooking smells, you also keep all the flavour that would have been lost through your ingredient touching water. Essentially, all of the flavour of the celeriac is kept in for a super intense celariac party. I think “celeriac party” is the technical term. If you put fats and spices in with your ingredient they only serve to amplify this effect. Your celeriac will taste more celeriacy and the nutmeg will intensify as well which is why I only included a very little. Too much nutmeg is never a nice thing.

Truly, if there is one cooking product I’d recommend for a food fanatic it’s definitely a sous vide machine. I have a mini one that takes up less space than a bread bin but still holds rather a lot of food. Obviously the super high-tech ones are incredibly expensive but you can find ones starting from about £250 which is about half the price of a Vitamix, not to slag off Vitamixes. The other amazing thing about the sous vide machine is that it’s hands off cooking that can’t go wrong. Sure, this purée took 2 hours to sit around getting warm in a bath but it only took me 10 minutes to prep which meant more time for me to… bang on about how great it is. Anyway, before I start to sound like an infomercial. Here is a recipe for an incredibly delicious CELERIAC purée. And without sounding immodest I just want to emphasise how great this was; when I first tried it I had a completely ridiculous physical reaction and thought it may have been the most delicious thing I’d ever made. Also, the smoked garlic adds a really interesting flavour so I would definitely try to source it but if you can’t I would leave the garlic out altogether.

image(4)

Ingredients (serves 2 – as a side, obviously)

200g celeriac (usually about half a celeriac)
25 g butter
1 squeeze lemon
1 pinch salt
1 small grating nutmeg
1/2 clove smoked garlic
A splash of milk
Method

  • Heat your sous vide machine to 85C.
  • Remove the skin and root from the celeriac then slice into pieces about a centimeter and a half thick.
  • Seal one side of your vacuum pack bag and put in the celeriac, 15g butter, garlic,  lemon, salt and nutmeg.
  • Vacuum and seal the other side.
  • When the sous vide has reached 85C put your bag in the water and cook for two hours.
  • After two hours remove contents from the sous vide and blend with 10g of butter.
  • Pass the purée through a sieve.
  • You can either serve or set the purée aside and when ready to eat add a splash of milk, adjust seasoning and serve.
photo(2)

I can’t really do anything about the fact that celeriac puree isn’t aesthetically pleasing.

7 Comments

  1. Pingback: Chicken and lettuce: a Heston repro | Stop! Food!

  2. Protein Artist says:

    Do you know the nutrition content for this? I want to add to my Protein Artist website for bariatric weight loss surgery meal recipes.

    Like

      • With the same cuts of meat (i.e. same part of the animal and same source) I get very consistent results, but when I try a new cut and/or source I sometimes get unexpected results. With some practice, I can now usually guestimate time and temperature correctly the first time around though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

