Black rice salad with raw peppers, mango and coriander

Ok, I’ve found something I’m annoyed about although I’m secretly pleased because it will make writing this post so much easier. I’m annoyed that it’s boring to hear about people’s trips to the gym. Even if you have a funny anecdote about the gym, you can’t share it because people who don’t go to the gym just think you’re a massive twat. I know this because I was one of those people until a couple weeks ago. The great thing about having a blog and making pretty looking and very delicious recipes, she said modestly, is that sometimes people read it. And then I get to express my feelings about the gym without any of the social backlash… until later… or in the comment section. Anyway, I’m doubly annoyed because today I discovered the world was once again conspiring against me and until now I haven’t been able to talk about. Basically, it all started when I realised I should probably exercise more. This was slightly because I wanted to be fitter but also because I wanted to be fitter. I love how words do that. Anyway, so I was sitting around probably eating some sort of cured meat thinking that I looked like a whale when I was like, “let’s just go for a bit of a run around”. I changed out of my jeans, into my gym kit and basically in that moment I transformed into a Victoria’s Secret angel. It’s something about the Lycra, everything goes in and up – marvellous! So now I’m thinking, “Oh ok, I feel ya, I like this gym thing”. So I go to the gym, get back, take off my gym kit, have a shower, look down and BLURGH. Back to being a sort of lumpy hovercraft. I don’t know why but that seemed like the best way to describe it.

So, then I got to thinking – why does the world work this way? Which, I suppose, is an oft asked question although usually in slightly different scenarios. And then I had that eureka moment. The gymwear companies are secretly paying all other clothes companies to make their clothing less flattering so people want to go to the gym and buy more gymwear. A big conspiracy is going on and I’ve cracked it. I sometimes have these thoughts and get led down the slippery slope that ends up with us all living in a Matrix and if that was the case and I’m not necessarily saying it is, my Matrix would be sponsored by Nike.

Anyway, before I sound too crazy. Here’s a really delicious summer salad which is perfect for picnics or to bring to work for lunch. I ate this alongside some BBQ chicken, after the gym. It was super good and is definitely going to become a new summer favourite. Enjoy!

Ingredients

200g black rice
1/2 red pepper
1/2 yellow or orange pepper
1/2 green pepper
3 spring onions
1/2 unripe mango
1/2 bunch coriander
1 drizzle oil (olive or groundnut)
1/2 lime juiced
1/3 small orange juiced
2 big pinches of salt
1 small pinch of pepper

Method (serves 2)

  • Simmer rice in saucepan with 400 ml of water. It will take around 30-40 minutes to cook. Read the back of the packet.
  • Meanwhile, finely dice the peppers, spring onion and mango.
  • Finely slice the coriander
  • When rice is ready, transfer onto a chopping board or plate to cool.
  • When cooled, stir in the peppers, mango and coriander.
  • Add the salt, pepper, oil, orange juice and lime juice.  Add the orange juice slowly and keep tasting. My orange was relatively small so I used a third, it’s nice as a background flavour but not to overpower the rest of the salad.
  • Check for seasoning then serve.
2 Comments

  1. Linda says:

    Haha! I don’t go to a gym but do exercise a few times a week by running in my local park or biking the roads and hills around home…but I feel you about the gym ‘clothes’…I look good in them and then out of them I’m back to my regular self!! Thanks for making me smile!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

